Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

(Solved!) Wireless problems / Wicd install / Gem

Posted by ndegekubwa 
(Solved!) Wireless problems / Wicd install / Gem
June 18, 2009 06:39PM
Hi,
I am new to Elive and am trying it out on my laptop (HP Pavillion dv2000) to see how it works. I am having a problem getting the wireless to work. I have installed ndiswrapper and the driver that works for a broadcom b4311 card. I have also installed wifi-wiz so that I can log on to my home wireless router which uses a WPA encryption.

When I start wifi-wiz, I hit the scan button and it scans the area and finds both mine and my neighbor's wireless routers. However, when I try to log into my router or any other wireless router, I get the following message in terminal:

Exception in thread Thread-l:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "threading.py", line 442, in __bootstrap self.run()
File "/usr/bin/wifi-wiz", line 1367, in run update("threaded"wink
File "/usr/bin/wifi-wiz", line 594, in update return update2(inuput)
File "/usr/bin/wifi-wiz", line 493, in update2 curip=line[line.index('addr:')+5:line.indes(' B')]
ValueError: substring not found

up:error fetching interface information: Device not found

I am unable to log into any wireless network, it seems that the wireless card is working but it isn't interfacing with the operating system. I don't know if there is some additional configuration that I must do to get the wireless working that I don't know about. I hope the information above is a help to solve this problem. I would like to get the wireless working on this laptop but will need some help.

Thanks

Edited 6 time(s). Last edit at 02/23/2010 07:02AM by anu.
Re: Wireless problem
June 18, 2009 06:55PM
Hi,