Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Sound Blaster Audigy SE probs

Posted by Antmanx2 
Sound Blaster Audigy SE probs
October 30, 2007 08:37PM
I am not sure what all info you guys need i'll try my best to provide. I am very new to linux.

I know there is an issue with sound and being able to listen to 2 programs at a time. I have tested macbook on my computer and this issue seems to be fixed. However, this is not my issue exactly.

The problem i am having is when i try to use 2 programs that require alsa only one gets the sound. for example. If i try to use wine with a program that requires sound then hit the auido button and try to listen to music. This music program will tell me:

(computer 1)
Please check that:

Your soundcard is configured properly you have the correct output plugin selected no other program is blocking the soundcard.

(Computer 2)
However. When i attempted the same thing on my other computer (computer 2 lets say) i can listen to audio, On this computer i can also listen/talk on teamspeak all at the same time no issues. Unlike computer 1

Computer 1 Spec
Both computers have same motherboard, processor, etc. differences are:
geforce 6200 gts video
1gb of ram
sound blaster audigy se soundcard pci
firewire pci card

Computer 2 spec
can't remember the video card not as nice as computer 1 but nvida
512mb ram
onboard a97 (via) sound

your next question might be does the onboard work with computer 1. Well, it used to but it got fried somehow, i think maybe one time pluging in the speakers i hit the card and the side of the case at same time... shorting the onboard sound.

So if there is any more info u guys need let me know. Also please let me know if it requires commands/files where to find these commands or files because i am new to linux.

I have also tried to put my sound blaster audigy into computer 2 and it had the same results as computer 1.