Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

BCM43xx Wirless issues

Posted by smirnoff 
BCM43xx Wirless issues
January 25, 2008 06:45AM
Hi guys I wonder if anyone can help, I'm new to linux / elive (which I think is awesome by the way) and could do with a bit of advice.

I have added the ndiswrapper tool and the front end and have added the firmware for my wlan adapter however I believe I need to edit the modules file and specify the ndiswrapper module in there, the only thing is in order to save the changes to the module file it needs editing as root user which is where I am stumbling as I seem to be unable to find a way to open the file as root / su, can anyone tell me how to do this?
Also can anyone advise on the best wireless application to use for connecting to wireless networks?

If all this fails I am thinking I may just get a wirless PCMCIA card for the laptop, does anyone know of any cards that work out of the box with elive no messing with setting up drivers etc?

Thanks in advance!! clap
Re: BCM43xx Wirless issues
January 25, 2008 08:32AM
Hi smirnoff!

Don't give up. You will get it to work eventually. I got my BCM43xx to work, by following this:

(I'm also a beginner)

Howto:

1. Ndiwsrapper came pre installed with my Elive Gem stable version. Just remember to use SU otherwise it will not run.

2. Downloaded the latest driver from the laptop manufacturerer. I just went to the manufacturer's support pages, and downloaded their latest windows xp driver.

3. Uncompressed the windows driver. Now you could do this by installing the driver on your windows machine.

4. Copy the two files from the driver directory that has the bcmwl5.inf AND .sys driver in it, over to the laptop that has the wireless card.

5. ndiswrapper -i /ndis/broad/bcmwl5.inf

6. ndiswrapper -l

This should show something like

# ndiswrapper -l
Installed ndis drivers:
bcmwl5 driver present, hardware present