Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

1.9.52 and browsing

Posted by loukingjr 
1.9.52 and browsing
December 16, 2009 04:50PM
I am very new to your Linux and would consider it, however, although when I run a speed test my connection is what it should be: 20/5 Mb/s. When it comes to loading pages, things are very slow. Perhaps something I don't have configured correctly?
Re: 1.9.52 and browsing
December 28, 2009 05:32PM
if slowness is specific to browsers like iceweasel (or firefox), there are some speed tweaks available on the net (if you put something like "firefox tweaks", these show you how to change things through "about:config" in the location bar.
perhaps more importantly, you can try to disable ipv6 (through "about:config" as well), a protocol that most websites do not support and tends to slow things down. for me it does make a difference.
cheers!
January 04, 2010 12:00PM
Hi,
I'm not sure it's a browser config problem, it appear only with browsing what's about downloads (by iceweasel and by other method like apt-get/synaptic)
Because I don't think the tweaks can help significantly, I mean you almost cannot see these effects, specially with a 20Mb connection...

Ciao @+

MerMouY

Some of my websites:
Communautary website idea: [teams.elivecd.org]
Personnal website: [perso.youm.org]
Rwanda, french community: [rwandaises.fr]
YouM's streeshow: [youm.org]
January 13, 2010 03:30PM
I am now running 1.9.54 and my only issue is an odd one I think. For some reason AOL.com is extremely slow to load compared to any other site I visit and is no slower on any other Linux, Mac OS or Windows. If anyone has an idea why I would like to know. Some odd code they use on AOL perhaps? Maybe some strange interaction with iceweasel 3.0.6?

thanks
January 15, 2010 04:34PM
by default ipv6 is enabled in mozilla, but when your internet provider doesnt handle ipv6 , you have to disable it.