Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
We moved to this Improved Forum!

Do not use this old forum, we MOVED to here!

Advanced

Help. Installing new apps.

Posted by Boo2themoon 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Help. Installing new apps.
July 28, 2007 04:01AM
Firstly let me say what a great job has been done with this little Gem. I am completely new to the Linux world but still managed to install Elive on an empty hard drive and be up and surfing in about 30 mins!

I am using e17 and it looks and works fantastic too. However I am a little green when it comes to installing and configuring new software so here is my problem.

Using Synaptic, I downloaded and installed a package called Planner (project management software). All went well and the package was installed automatically. I then clicked upon the desktop to call up the "start" menu but it was not listed. I then looked at the ibar to see if a short cut had been placed there, but no joy there either. So I called up the file manager and eventually found a file called planner in usr/bin. Clicking on this launched the application, fantastic!

Now I need to add it to the menu system or create a shortcut to it. I have tried right clicking on the executable file and choosing send to Desktop (create link) but this did nothing, I also tried dragging the icon from the open application window into the ibar but it tells me I don't have a matching application file, but I don't understand what this means.

Any help with this would be appreciated.

Once again congratulations on this beautiful distro.
Re: Help. Installing new apps.
July 29, 2007 10:13AM
There are several ways to launch the program now that you have it installed. You can hit Alt+Esc and it will open up a run dialogue box. Next type first few letters of the applications name and it will appear there.